Cooperative Agreements for Delegated Authority


The Federal Oil and Gas Royalty Management Act of 1982 authorizes the Secretary of the Interior to enter into cooperative agreements (Agreements) with States or Indian Tribes to share oil and gas royalty management information, and to carry out inspection, audit, investigation, and enforcement activities on Federal and Indian lands. Agreements form the framework of ONRR's relationship with States and Indian Tribes in the ‎area of mineral revenue compliance functions. By virtue of this relationship, these ‎States and Indian Tribes are working partners with ONRR and integral participants in the ‎overall compliance effort.

Authorities and Standards

A State or Indian Tribe may request the Department to enter into a cooperative agreement by sending a letter from the governor, tribal chairman, or other appropriate official with delegation authority, to the Director of ONRR. We reimburse States and Indian Tribes for the costs of performing authorized activities; costs may include salaries, office equipment, and travel expenses.

Title 30 CFR Part 1227 – Delegation to States

Title 30 CFR Part 1228 – Cooperative Activities with States and Indian Tribes

Every State and Indian Tribe must adhere to the same standards followed by ONRR including the Government Auditing Standards, the ONRR Audit Manual, and ONRR Compliance Review Manual.

ONRR reviews each participating State and Indian Tribal program to determine whether it is:

  • Achieving satisfactory performance, including progress toward milestones, and/or timely completion of audits, and/or conducting compliance reviews.
  • Adhering to records management system standards.
  • Requesting accurate costs for reimbursement.
  • Receiving satisfactory peer review ratings.
  • Adhering to ONNR's Audit Manual and Compliance Review Manual.
  • Maintaining an accurate and complete equipment inventory.


ONRR's current State partnerships include:

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

ONRR's current Indian Tribal partnerships include:

  • Blackfeet Nation (Montana)
  • Navajo Nation (Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah)
  • Eastern Shoshone Tribe and Northern Arapaho Tribe (Wyoming) – Joint Agreement
  • Southern Ute Indian Tribe (Colorado)
  • Ute Indian Tribe (Utah)
  • Ute Mountain Ute Tribe (Colorado and New Mexico)


Agreement Administration
Audit Assistance & Orders
Work Planning & Budgets